Students Selected for ICN’s Broadband Council for 2018-2019 School Year


Twelve Iowa high school students have been selected to serve on the Statewide Youth Broadband Advisory Council (SYBAC). The council is established by the ICN to engage students on a variety of broadband related topics. Last year’s discussions range from broadband dead zones in schools, cybersecurity, coding, encrypted vs. non-encrypted data, and wireless communication technology.

ICN’s 2018-2019 SYBAC Students:

  • Lewis Callaway, Clear Lake High School
  • Yogi Chander, Valley High School
  • Bradenn Droegmiller, Okoboji High School
  • Austin Grant, Boyer Valley High School
  • Gavin Hyde, Wapsie Valley High School
  • Hannah Marsh, English Valleys Jr-Senior High School
  • Olivia Moore, East Union High School
  • Sanora Nelson, Colo-Nesco High School
  • Alex Schwarte. Dowling Catholic High School
  • Jonathyn Stiverson, Abraham Lincoln High School, Council Bluffs
  • Gabrielle Valencia, East Union Middle/High School
  • Blake Van Der Kamp, Prairie City Monroe (PCM) High School

The Council’s focus is about receiving information and feedback from students, who will serve as broadband ambassadors. Meetings of the SYBAC will be held September – May via video conference. To keep updated on the student initiatives visit